Sims - where to start?

Discuss everything Sims here, as long as it's not Freeplay or Mobile!
Sims 1/2/3/4, Medieval, Stories series, etc.
2012bethany
Sim Toddler
Sim Toddler

Sims - where to start?

Post by 2012bethany »

Hi All! I am new to the Sims and so far only have the Freeplay version. I am very interested in getting a PC version but I am not sure which one. I know that the Sims4 just came out for PC but I was wondering if it would be better to start with the Sims3??

Some info on my system (might be relevant!) I am using a new laptop with Windows 8.1 and there have been some compatibility issues with other software already (pain to fix, but got it done) so one of my concerns is that an older version of the game may not be compatible with my operating system.

I do have a PS2 and a PS3 available but again, I am concerned that I will purchase a new game and it won't work on my old game system (not willing to buy a new game system for one game - it would break the budget!)

Any insight/advise you can offer would be appreciated!
telemwill
Sim Veteran
Sim Veteran

Re: Sims - where to start?

Post by telemwill »

http://www.modthesims.info/fd.php?f=579 Try having a look at this forum which has discussions on all the various Sim games and see which appeals to you most. I am playing the old reliable Sims 2. I like it because of it has all ages of the family, and lots of weird stuff like PlantSims and aliens. It doesn't have the open world of Sims 3, not does it have something called storyline progression. I actually prefer the way Sims 2 plays though where you have rotational play and each family is just as you last left them. But there are lots of Sims 3 fans out there too. I am not sure if you can get the Ultimate Collection for Sims 2 anymore though. I got it for free on a special offer which made it extra sweet.
HFN at #11 West Side. Haunted House at #1 East Side. Three star instruments at #3 East Side.
2012bethany
Sim Toddler
Sim Toddler

Post by 2012bethany »